Temporal Bone Dissection Competition

Temporal bone dissection is a very important aspect of learning the intricacies of mastoid surgery. Considering the abundance of ear disease in India, it is of paramount importance that all otolaryngologists are trained in temporal bone surgery. The Association of Otolaryngologists of India (Delhi State Branch) took the initiative for conducting temporal bone dissection competition for residents. There are well laid out guidelines for the competition, which is held as a pre-conference activity. Teaching institutions conducting postgraduate course and DNB nominate one of their residents or participate in the competition. All the dissected bones are displayed on the first day of the Annual Conference when the results are declared.

The inaugural Dr. Sandeep Bhari Memorial Temporal Bone Dissection Competition was held at Batra Hospital on May 1st, 2005. Dr. Santosh Kacker, Dr. A.S. Bais and Dr. A.K. Lahiri judged the dissected bones. Dr. Sunil Kathuria and Dr. Sanjiv Kakkar were supervisor and coordinator respectively. The candidates were asked to perform one of these three exercises:

- Cortical Mastoidectomy, posterior tympanotomy and marking the site for cochleostomy.
- Facial nerve exposure from first genu to digastric ridge.
- · Modified Radical Mastoidectomy with ossiculoplasty (interposition of incus between handle of malleus and stapes head).

It is a matter of great pleasure that Dr. Anil Monga, a well-known Otologist has taken the initiative of sponsoring this competition in the name of his parents. The temporal bone competition of AOI Delhi State Branch has been christened as Prakash and Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition and shall run in this form for ten years.

Year	Name of the Competition	Venue	Judges	Winner	Institution
2005	Dr. Sandeep Bahri Memorial Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	Batra Hospital and Medical Research Centre	Dr. S.K. Kacker Dr. A.K. Lahiri Dr. A.S. Bais	Dr. Manish Prakash	AIIMS
2006	Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC	Dr. M.K. Taneja	Dr. Sunil Aggarwal Dr. B.B. Khatri Dr. Manish Munjal	MAMC
2007	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	Batra Hospital and Medical Research Centre	Dr. A.S. Bais Dr. Anil Monga Dr. S.S. Panwar	Dr. Chandrasekhran Dravid	SJH
2008	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	Batra Hospital and Medical Research Centre	Dr. Arvind Soni Dr. L.M. Parashar	Dr. Chandrasekhran Dravid Dr. V. Natesh and Dr. Rajeev Kumar	SJH and Aruna Asaf Ali Hospital
2009	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	Pushpanjali Crosslay Hospital	Dr. Atul Jain Dr. S. Maheshwari Dr. A. Chakravarty	Dr. Rohit Verma	AIIMS
2010	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC	Dr. N.N. Mathur Dr. J.K. Sahni Dr. Sunil Kathuria	Dr. Rajeev Dr. Chirom Amit	AIIMS
2011	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC	Dr. N.N. Mathur Dr. Kathuria	Dr. Sarvjeet Singh Dr. Radha Madhav Sahu	SJH
2012	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC		Dr. Ankush Dr. Kirti Shroff	MAMC
2013	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC		Dr. Tripti Brar Dr. Divya Gupta Dr. Shilpi Aggarwal Dr. Ramandeep Kaur	MAMC UCMS
2014	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC	Dr. Gurdip Singh Dr. Anil Monga Dr. Ravi Meher	Dr. Arvind Kairo Dr. B. Sumanth	AIIMS
2015	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC	Dr. Atul Jain Dr. Sunil Kathuria	Dr. Bhinyram Dr. Krishna	AIIMS
2016	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	AIIMS	Dr Sharad Maheshwari Dr Rakesh Kumar	Dr Sasikrishna Dr Bhinyaram	AIIMS
2017	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal Bone Dissection Competition	MAMC	Dr Sumit Mrig Dr R.K. Bhardwaj	Dr Ramandeep Dr Kunwar Parvez	UCMS
2018	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal	AIIMS		Dr. Shikha Patel, Dr. Noothanapati Nageswara Rao	AIIMS
2019	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal	AIIMS		Dr. Krupa Sankha Dr. Vignesh J	DDU Hospital
2021	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal	AIIMS	Dr. Susan John Dr. Sunil Kathuria Dr. Rajesh Bhardwaj	Dr. Sabari Rajan Dr. Firoz Ahmed	VMMC
2022	Prakash & Ved Monga Temporal	AIIMS	Dr. Sunil Kathuria Dr. Shalabh Sharma	Dr. Salman Khan Dr. Avinash	AIIMS