Lifetime Achievement Award of AOI Delhi State Branch

The association of Otolaryngologists of India, Delhi State branch, instituted a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006 when first such award was announced in the 29th Annual Conference. A need for such an award was being felt for a long time as during its long existence of more than thirty years a generation of very eminent ENT surgeons had done most exceptional and creditable work. It was always important to highlight the outstanding work done by the luminaries and to bring it in forefront. This itself can act as a catalyst for motivating and inspiring the younger generation. A Lifetime Achievement Award is but a gesture by the association to pay its gratitude for the excellence achieved during lifetime. The present secretary during his first tenure in 2004-05 started proceedings in the governing body to formulate the policy for awarding this prestigious honour. After ratification by the general body, the set of rules was adopted and are reproduced below for posterity:

Selection Panel

- Shall comprise of five members.
- President, Immediate Past President, President Elect, Secretary, Treasurer.
- President shall be the chairperson of the selection panel.
- Secretary shall convene the meeting.
- No bids shall be invited and the selection panel shall decide the award after discussing eligible candidates as per laid down guidelines.
- The panel shall meet without advertising the purpose but is empowered to ask for the biodata and achievements of eligible candidates.
- The selection panel can decide for not awarding the award for a particular year.
- Lobbying for any candidate shall be discouraged.
- In case of a tie, chairperson's decision shall prevail.

Guidelines for Selection

- Award can be given only to one person in a year.
- Age: 60 years or more.
- Shall be an active life member/ordinary member of good standing, without any arrears, of AOI Delhi State Branch for a minimum of 20 years.
- Active participation in association activities: attendance in monthly clinical meetings, annual conferences, picnic, general body meetings, and executive meetings.
- Contribution to the AOI Delhi State Branch: Executive post held; institution of any award, trophy or scholarship, financial help of the association.
- Academic achievements: Professional degrees, any medals and awards, orations and guest lectures, contributions for advancement of the speciality, contribution in dissipation of knowledge, development of any procedure.
- Publication: In national and international journals, any books, chapter in books, editor or guest editor of journals and books.
- Professional achievements: Highest professional position achieved, administrative experience in any Government or private institution.
- Contribution to society: Social work, charity and establishment of institution for public in general, participation in state programmes for disease control, membership of NGO or other social bodies.
- Achievement in society: Any award or recognition by government societies other than ENT association.

 The award is in its 4th year of existence. It comprises of a shawl, citation and a memento. The President does the honours on behalf of the entire Delhi AOI fraternity.

Scroll of Honours

2006	Dr. V.P. Sood, Dr. S.C. Gaudi &	2014	Dr. A.S. Bais
	Dr. V.P. Venkatachalam (Joint Winners)	2015	Dr. A.K. Lahiri
2007	Prof. Prem K. Kakarl	2016	Dr. Narottam Puri
2008	Prof. Santosh K. Kacker	2017	Dr. Sudhir Bahadur
2009	Dr. Brij Mohan Abrol	2018	Dr. Ashok Vaid
2010	Prof. (Dr.) P. Ghosh	2019	Dr. A.K.Aggarwal
2011	Prof. (Dr.) P.S. Saharia	2020	Dr. Anoop Raj
2012	Dr. (Lt. Gen.) R.C. Kochhar	2022	Dr. J.C. Passey
2013	Dr. A.R. Marwah	2023	Dr. Lalit Kochhar & Dr. Dharam Paul